GURMUKHĪ

Gurmukhī 1: Pronunciation

Live Date: Saturday, June 27, 2020
Recordings: Available for participants until July 31
Class time: 3 hours (with a break)
Teacher: Himmat Singh Khalsa

In this webinar series you will learn the sounds and syllables of Gurmukhī – the literary script used in the Srī Gurū Gran̊th Sāhib. You will discover the system and its application through your own ears and mouth, through call and response exercises. Sounds that are unique to the western tongue and ear – that can often confuse those who are experienced in Gurmukhī – will be clearly delivered to you. By the end of this course, you will have all the tools you need to become fluent in Gurmukhī pronunciation.

All levels are welcome to join. 

The webinar is at 6:00pm Moscow time (8:00am PST, 11:00am EST, 5:00pm EU)

Each session will include:
* A short introduction
* Presentation on Gurmukhī Sounds
*10 minute break to refresh
* Experiential practice
* Q&A at the end of class

Students will have access to course materials online.

You must enter your e-mail address below in order to receive the invitation to this webinar.

 

Gurmukhi 1 Condensed Series
Gurmukhi 1 Condensed Series
Gurmukhi 1 Condensed Series - 2 webinar sessions
Price: $27.00

Register for both Gurmukhi 1 and 2 series:

 

Gurmukhī 1 and 2 Combination Special
Gurmukhī 1 and 2 Combination Special
Gurmukhī 1 and 2 Combination Special
Price: $72.00

Gurmukhī 2: Reading and Writing

Live Dates: Wednesday, July 1 and the following 5 Wednesdays in July, until the 29th
Recordings: Available for participants until August 31
Class time: 1 hour each
Teacher: Himmat Singh Khalsa

In this webinar series you will learn to read and write the Gurmukhī script. Through these skills, you will be able to read anything from the Srī Gurū Gran̊th Sāhib. You will explore the system of how words are put together and the specific technique for writing each letter and symbol.

Some find reading and writing to be the biggest hurdle in learning Gurmukhī, but my belief is actually that learning the sounds is more difficult. For that reason, the Gurmukhī 1 series has been put first to get the more difficult part done first.

If you are interested in taking both series, please register below at a reduced rate and have series one complete before series two begins on July 1.

The webinar is at 9:00pm Moscow time (11:00am PST, 2:00pm EST, 8:00pm EU)

Each session is scheduled for one hour, which will include:
* A short introduction
* Presentation on Gurmukhī Characters
* Writing practice
* Q&A at the end of class

Students will have access to course materials online.

You must enter your e-mail address below in order to receive the invitation to this webinar.

 

GURMUKHĪ 2: Reading and Writing Series
GURMUKHĪ 2: Reading and Writing Series
GURMUKHĪ 2: Reading and Writing series - 5 webinar sessions
Price: $60.00

Register for both Gurmukhi 1 and 2 series:

 

Gurmukhī 1 and 2 Combination Special
Gurmukhī 1 and 2 Combination Special
Gurmukhī 1 and 2 Combination Special
Price: $72.00

Note

We would like these webinars to be available to everybody who is interested. We understand that these are difficult times and that many people in the world are experiencing financial hardship. We don’t believe that money should be an obstacle to anyone pursuing their interest in enriching themselves, especially in subjects like these. If you are would like to register, but you have a financial constraint, please send an email to atthebunga@gmail.com

Bio

Himmat Singh Khalsa started studying Gurmukhi 30 years ago, when he was a child. He has taught Japji Sahib for Sikh Dharma as well as other workshops around the world. He lived in Amritsar for 12 years both studying and teaching at Miri Piri Academy. Recently, he completed in depth study (Santhya) of the Dasam Granth with a Master of Gurmukhi, Giani Gurwinder Singh Nangali. He is also an Associate Trainer of Kundalini Yoga and has a bachelors degree in Psychology.